53 Comments
author

For anyone who voted "sending a message of resistance," I'd be especially interested in hearing your rationale, because while I don't claim to know anything about a stranger's motivations with 100% certainty, I'm highly skeptical of this theory.

Expand full comment

A few reasons—

Bells Palsy is temporary. If she were cheering for the vax, she would have pointed that out, to minimize the seriousness of her side effect. She didn’t.

She throws in another dig- “I hd a really rough go with the vaccine, and I guess still am.”

She never says the obligatory, “But all this os so much better than catching covid” or “this proves the vaccine is working” or anything else along those lines.

In fact, the only reason she gives for getting the vaccine (“I’d do it again”) is because that’s what she has to do to get her freedom back. She’s admitting tbat she is submitting to the coercion. She doesn’t give any other reason for getting the vaccine.

She’s showing herself as a victim of coercion, not an anti-vaxxer. I don’t think this is even very subtle or “coded” really. It’s a “look what you’ve reduced me to” message.

Expand full comment

Jeff Childers makes a very similar point:

"The giveaway is in her brief explanation. You have to look at what she DIDN’T say. She did NOT follow the script. The script is, “I’m grateful for my shot’s protection, because I’m convinced it would have been worse.” Instead she said she would agree to take the shot and lose her career anyway because in Canada “this is what we have to do … to see people.”

THIS. “This” is what we have to do. To escape isolation. To escape solitary confinement.

“This” wasn’t referring to the shot. “This” referred to the blackmail. “This” referred to the coercion. “This” referred to having to make the Sophie’s Choice of destroying her health and career or remaining stuck in government-imposed prison. In other words, “this” is what she was FORCED to do."

Expand full comment

Well said!

Expand full comment

Yours was equally so!

Expand full comment

You and me both...

Expand full comment

My theory is "sending a conflicted warning." I agree with Amos that her reasons blame the mandates and her face sure isn't going to convince anyone who was on the fence, temporary or not (and I haven't heard from my conspiracy buddies that it is ... )

But what's the level of cognitive dissonance she's operating under? 1) I made a horrible mistake that's ruined my life. 2) I made the best decision under the circumstances I WAS PUT UNDER.

For two years a raw milk dairy has been distributing from my driveway since she had an altercation with the Farmer's Market. They felt she should have policed the anti-vax and mask protesters around her booth. So we started the Unmasked Underground in my driveway, which has been a real source of sanity and great info.

A few weeks ago, her brother died suddenly for no reason. The same brother who told her "You better get vaxxed before mom dies or you're not coming to the funeral." But no one's a stereotype. He was a great guy who was gay and went to a homeopath. His husband is devastated. My friend talked about the connection, and they listened.

Yesterday she told me the husband just got the fifth booster, after her brother's death. When she asked why, he didn't want to hear about it and said, "That's the kind of people we are, it's just what we do."

I have more stories, but I'll let this one stand for now.

Expand full comment

I need to see her hand before I vote. We're all aware of the 'universal sign of distress' from the POW/MIA pop culture phenom in the 1970s, right?

Or is it too late to vote? I lost a week or so. Not sure what happened. I must of had a real life encounter of some sort. Apologies.

Expand full comment
author

The poll stays open for a week. No worries. There will be equally scintillating questions this week.

Expand full comment

I have no idea what to believe anymore. Defaulting to cynicism seems best now.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

I have no idea who she is. Is she Steve Gutenberg?

Moral strings, so many innuendos and puns rise unbidden at the term; I will be pondering the significance of the hypothetical opposite, immoral strings, for the rest of the day.

Also getting miffed that the only thing Stockholm (called Sissy-Swamp colloguially, for over 50 years) is reknowned for is a 1973 bank heist gone wrong.

What really happened was that the hostages didn't trust in the police's ability to extract then using force - the thing about bonding with their captors is a myth creatd by dr Nils Beijerot, a man who at the time held the same position in swedish psychiatry as Freud used to do in the US.

So the whole concept "Stockholm syndrome" is based on nothing but conjecture and the selective repeating and reporting about itself.

Expand full comment
author

I had no idea who she was before this. She is apparently a comedienne/actress.

I am very dubious that Stockholm syndrome is an actual pathology. There is such a phenomenon as "trauma bonding," but the specific narrative of alleged "Stockholm" incidents is always very dubious.

I got some excellent chocolate liqueurs from Stockholm from a client a long time ago, so I at least have one other thing to remember it by.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

If you ever have reason to visit, do it between mid-May to mid-August when it comes to the inner city. The outlaying areas are beautiful the year round (excepting the projects of course), but the inner city, Old Town and so on look positively monochrome and bleak during winter.

Apart from the usual tourist locations such as churches, the royal castle, art salons and museums and so on, there's lots more to see, but I'd hesitate to give actual advice since my personal knowledge is so outdated.

Oh, and while renting a car isn't necessary, it does enable going to the more remote locations around town.

Expand full comment
author

I would like to go someday. Husbandmouth is Swedish and hasn't been since he was little. Fathermouth wanted to visit Denmark with me at some point but life got in the way, obviously.

Expand full comment

Copenhagen has the benefit of being beautiful in the winter too, weather permitting. The old city centre of Stockholm was torn down and rebuilt almost completely in the mid nineteenhundreds, and the estetic chosen was "cheapskate brutalism", a trend that's sadly continued from that day to now regarding public buildings.

The danes didn't do that, intead when they (re)build in the inner city they combine styles to make the new seem like a continuance of the old. I believe the norwegians and the finns do that too.

A round-trip of Scandinavia can be done by starting in Copenhagen by renting a car and a caravan or a mobile home, both are very common means for vacation here and there are lots of campsites catering to caravaners. It's fully possible to bring those on the larger ferrys across Östersjön (the Baltic Sea) too, the larger ships take several hundred cars per trip.

Though be warned: price of petrol and diesel is positively Californian now and aren't likely to drop anytime soon.

Expand full comment

You are always welcome in the little Danish Capitol in California; Solvang:https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Products-g33103-a_contentId.1179776144291623+268263206-Solvang_California.html

Expand full comment
author

But... I'd have to go to California! And I'm unvaccinated- won't the Rangers shoot me or something? :)

Expand full comment

Haha! Our only rangers enforce tedious rules at our many state parks. Your biggest discomfort would be dealing with any airline authorities when you depart, like a mask requirement. Currently no negative test or ‘vaxx’ required for flight.

Solvang and the entire Santa Ynez Valley is mostly rural and considerably cooler than most of the cities on the coast. Home to many celebrities and ranches, including Reagan’s Western Whitehouse and Michael Jackson’s Neverland.

If you’re going to be in California, this is a great place to visit. I would take you on any ranch tour, like the Pork Palace and of course our many craft beer breweries, wineries and distilleries. We’re 27 miles from Santa Barbara, a beautiful city I avoid because of all the mentally ill people we call “the homeless”.

Expand full comment

Interesting, especially after the botched hostage rescue a year earlier in Munich where all the hostages died during the rescue attempt.

Expand full comment

Isn't she Steve Gutenberg?

Expand full comment

Maybe she's Spartacus?

Expand full comment

Well, there is definitely a slave rebellion happening.

Expand full comment

They can't accept that they were hoodwinked into ruining their lives.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

its saying she would do it again that is the clincher for me. totally stupid.

she would do anything to get back in to society and not be cancelled including fucking herself up!

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Maybe she’s being facetious. Everyone can SEE her injury. So can she…every time she looks in a mirror. She knows she fucked up.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Famous people are zeroes. Was never star struck but now? 😖

Expand full comment
author

I find parasocial relationships a weird and kind of pitiful by-product of human nature.

Expand full comment

I see it as a last ditch effort to test the theory that misery loves company. The people I know who are pro-vax now are vaxxed, boosted at least once and are ready to get the new booster. They just want to convince as many others to go along with them so they don't feel alone as they face an unknown future. Surely with the syndromes she has developed already she has to understand that life as she knew it a year and a half ago is over and what is left now will likely be foreshortened to some degree. It is pure jealousy which makes her mind want to drag as many others into the same situation she is in.

Expand full comment

I think in these weird times where people don't seem to care how awful they look in strange closeup self-recorded angles, people post as they vomit--no curation of what they heave out.

If you haven't got a tearful rumination on your timeline you ain't nothing these days. If there's a lesson anywhere, it's the utter tawdry self-absorption and entire absence of useful introspection and stunningly shallow workings of the mind of most of the public-eye set.

They really are morons. They really are. I see this everyday, reading what's posted online by purported thought leaders and novelists trying to prove themselves philosophers in 280 character bursts of triviality.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Well said! All I know about myself, is I keep to myself. If I don’t feel well, the last thing I want to do is talk! There are very few people that I honestly like or trust. I was never like this when I was younger. I’m simply, very jaded. Probably because I know MOST people are full of shit (I can’t mince words on that).

Expand full comment

One of the true sad things in life is if you ain't made your bosom friends by your very early adulthood, the ones you find after won't be very durable.

It's a kind of imprinting and there really isn't an exact word for the relationship, in English at least, as far as I can see. They're more than "friend" but not that silly not-honest name "sister" either. People who are necessary as part of the reality that is your life, if you fall out with them, there's a bad moth-eaten hole left and it's not darnable.

People after that point in time, they're just very good acquaintances if you even get as far as the adjectives.

Expand full comment
author

Yeah, it fucking sucks watching your never-replenishable adulthood trousseau dwindle away to nothing.

Expand full comment

You'd think we'd have had the sense to put them in an airlock vault and arranged for manna to fall every night to keep 'em in perpetual ready-to-use form.

Expand full comment
author

Until recently I never really thought of life friends as something that could be used up.

This decade has taught me a lot.

Expand full comment

Well, look. Not as bad as Paul Robeson and Itzik Feffer, in the scheme of things, but that's because you're thank God still alive.

Expand full comment

I like most people but I certainly don't trust them.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022·edited Oct 13, 2022

I'm not totally convinced that she's shilling for the vaccine; there are indicators there that would normally tend to indicate signs of duress. She says that she's not sure why she's making the video, and appears fairly unhappy about doing so. She also has a waiver in her voice at the precise moment that she says "because it's what we have to do." That alone gave me pause as to whether she truly believed what she's saying. The assessment that this is a kind "hostage video" seems accurate, and based on a very short video of someone (of whom I have zero baseline behavioral knowledge), I would lean that direction. However, it is very difficult to discern whether she's trying to convince others that this is all okay, or that she's more trying to convince herself. I voted Steve Gutenberg. I don't think this is a message of resistance, per se, but I think she is trying very diligently to convince someone (I would say herself) that this is "for the cause", but still acknowledging that this particular outcome is not great. She also does appear to be walking a tightrope in choosing her words carefully. Notice she doesn't come right out and say that "this shitty vaccine did this to me", but this is not at all what I would characterize as a glaring endorsement, either.

Expand full comment

I think "coded message" is giving her too much credit, "shilling for the clot shots" is giving her too little credit.

I think she wanted people to know what the prototype jabs did to her as a cautionary tale to others, and I think she's pissed that her government all but strapped her to the table and force-shot her with the poison simply because she wanted to live her life as the social animal humans are.

If she *weren't* trying to make a statement of some kind, I don't know why someone whose livelihood takes place in front of a camera would do this public display of vaxx injury.

I think Jeff Childers got it mostly right here; I disagree only with this sentence (and readily admit I have a better than 50/50 chance of being wrong): "I am 100% convinced Gibson’s TikTok was a radical sneak attack on the vaccines; a cunning way to smuggle the truth out right under the noses of the prison guards."

https://www.coffeeandcovid.com/p/c-and-c-news-friday-september-30?utm_source=post-email-title&publication_id=463409&post_id=75765576&isFreemail=true&utm_medium=email

Expand full comment

I think it's a plea for sympathy. Her life is ruined. I'll bet everyone professionally and personally close to her still claims the life-ruining injection is safe and effective. Put another way, they're cretins and lack all empathy. So she's going public in the hopes of finding someone who will at least acknowledge some small bit of reality.

Expand full comment

I can not even watch these videos. I listened to mountain biking champion story, Maddie's story, the Scottish cobbler who had his calf amputated. These victims documented their vx. Injury although censored. Controllers are Normalizing many inhumane behaviors. I can't guess at jenn's motivation. There's a lot psych ops going on to add to the chaos. No doubt distractions while they herd world s population into a monopolistic economy where they own everything and we are told how to behave.

Expand full comment

I have no rationale- my gut says she's saying " Look at me, dammit! I'm maimed because of this shot and my career depends upon my face and voice!"

Expand full comment

Sadly, she is a zombie shill. She's so deep under their spell that if they paralyzed the other half of her face, she'd do sign language ads for AstraZeneca. Here is my proof:

https://toronto.citynews.ca/video/2021/05/27/toronto-woman-develops-bells-palsy-after-covid-vaccine/

Expand full comment

Video would not play. "Unexpected error."

Expand full comment

I think she was fully captured - and OK with being one of the negative (grossly underreported) statistics.

Expand full comment

I have to go with Steve Gutenberg on this one because no, she's just insane. TBH, I quit Hollywood (everything and anything) about 10+ years ago. I never heard of her until that video was released and I have yet to watch it. As usual on the internet, one doesn't need to watch a video in order to receive comprehensive analysis of it. From people whose opinions I trust, their analysis of that woman's ugly display of self loathing and humiliation is enough for me.

However, I must point out, as with any and all thespians, these people are paid to convincing lie as the primary skill of their job. So any analysis of their true motivation or even whether they're telling the truth in any given circumstance should be measured against that.

Expand full comment

Her statement about the damage done and saying she would do it again are beyond bizarre. Maybe she, like Neal Young and Jonni Mitchel, is being paid by the shills since her carrier is over and she has no way to make a living. Not beyond the pharma eugenics lords to do this, after all they have tried to destroy humanity. If any of you are Canadian, you should read some of Matt Ehret's work on Rising Tide Foundation and Canadian Patriot, also Cynthia Chung's work and you will be able to put the scheme together. This is all a Malthusian, eugenics conspiracy long is the making and involving the WEF, Gates foundation, Gavi et al.

Expand full comment

Why doesn't someone just ask her covertly to see if her comment was covert?

Surely she would know a covert question, if indeed she is smart enough to message covertly herself.

Expand full comment

The interesting part is how she repeats that she doesn’t know why she’s making the video when it’s obvious why she’s making the video. Bell’s palsy rarely lasts & it’s an openly documented possible side effect of the vaccination. Making the video says ‘look at me, I’m in good standing with The Sensibles’. You may disagree that The Sensibles are sensible or not, but that’s what she’s doing.

Expand full comment

If it was now I might think she was sending a coded message, but this video is from 2021.

Expand full comment

My previous comment was already way too long, so I cut it short, forgetting to add something important. Bell’s Palsy usually resolves in a few weeks, when treated with corticosteroids. But still …

Expand full comment

Definitely shilling for the fauxine. First, she’s Canadian, a nationality who, as far as I can tell, are relentlessly conditioned from birth to conform, be ‘nice’ and do as they’re told.

There was a hilarious discussion of one of the results of this - a film of ‘niceness’ floating atop bottomless depths of passive aggression - in the comments on the ‘Awful Avalanche’ blog not long ago, among people who unlike me have actually lived there: https://awfulavalanche.wordpress.com/2022/10/05/ukraine-war-day-224-peacemaker-musk-risks-being-put-on-peacemaker/

Scroll down past the top few comments.

Second, she’s an actress. The profession’s relentless wokeness militates against skepticism and dissent. Also, while actors - like media hacks - are usually bright and glib, they have zero critical thinking skills. Like everyone else zombified by the Wu Flu, they also lack self awareness and can’t see how insane they appear.

Those who think she’s sending an anti-vax message aren’t dumb, they just can’t imagine how far gone cognitively she and the rest vaccine Karens are. They’re giving her too much credit.

Expand full comment

I don't know what to think, so I chose Steve Gutenberg. On one hand I kinda feel bad for her because of her dilemma. Then she says she'd do it again and my brain shuts down and I figure she deserves what she gets.

Expand full comment