33 Comments

Before I met my wife I saw a couple holding hands while they were running. I said to myself; hope I meet a girl someday that will hate these people with me.

Hope he finds the same type of girl

Expand full comment

Lol! My husband and I have been together for over 40 years. Our motto: “We hate each other, but we hate everyone else worse.”

Expand full comment

In a world full of Jokers & Harley Quinns, be Gomez & Morticia, or at least Herman & Lily.

Expand full comment

Serious, and you're still single?

Expand full comment

Sounds stable; hate is the most stable of emotions.

Expand full comment

We should be friends. 🤣

Expand full comment

As my middle daughter is known to exclaim about my oldest daughter's boyfriend, "And he built you a fence!" Followed by a deep sigh. The oldest and the fence-builder are getting married next Sat. We all approve.

Expand full comment

I feel like a millions puns on fencing all cried out and went unherd.

Expand full comment

Oh, the temptation!

Expand full comment

lol.

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

A word of endorsement for Brothermouth (not that I've ever met him, but still I've ordered merch from him).

Dude does not procrastinate in filling orders, and knows how to thoroughly protect fragile items for shipping damage. Ladies do not underestimate the latter mentioned skill!

Expand full comment
author

We don't have any DIRECT control over that but he did decide on the fulfillment provider for such things, and it was a pretty considered choice, so I guess he still deserves some credit. :)

He is very, VERY quality minded, though, in all things, and has struggled in entrepreneurial ventures in the past because his concern for delivering excellence often puts him past the profit margin in actually doing something (e.g. doing 10 hours of work on something he then sells for like $20 because that was the originally promised price).

Yeah, Brothermouth is pretty awesome in that way. He has a craftsman's spirit and he'd never hand someone a shitty product that had his name on it even if it meant having to cut off his own arm.

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Well he probably could have gotten a cheaper, slower service, so that was a very pro-customer-satisfaction choice on his part as well.

We've gotten several mugs, and a hoodie earlier. My 14 year old grandkiddo thinks the Department of Malign Creativity hoodie is 'fucking awesome', time for soap for that kid's mouth. She likes it better than any of her gaming hoodies that she's got. Ah, little girl's growing up!

Oh, and we gave one of the white 20oz "I Refuse to Live in Fear" mugs as a bonus tip (along with some cash and a dozen eggs) to the guy who poured some gravel for our driveway, and he was jazzed!

So yeah, good service, good stuff, Brothermouth should be considered a very eligible bachelor so far as how he treats people in business, not to mention great design sense.

You can tell a lot about people by how they treat people in biz. Remember that, eligible ladies!

Expand full comment
author

Without getting too much into his private business (I'm not repeating anything he doesn't tell others), he had a really terrible marriage in our collective youth with a wife that was abusive in several categories, reconnected with us after she essentially abandoned him and has lived with us wherever we've moved since. He has said he never needs to get married or date again, and while I respect his feelings and wishes on the matter, I do sometimes wonder if it's just the trauma talking and he would enjoy having a partner again if he allowed himself to.

On the other hand, my mother is the same way- she never really wanted to marry in the first place, and prefers her life the way it has been since she and Fathermouth divorced, and who am I to tell someone better what makes them happy?

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Not that I have the cred for marriage advice (3rd time is a charm, for me), but something that strikes me is that he didn't walk away despite the abuse he'd received, the abuser did.

I'm hoping that whatever aspect of his personality caused him to stick around until she left, has at least grown from experience.

Unless he's learned to insist on some boundaries since then, would he be likely to have another difficult time with a 'significant other'?

Clearly that is something that only he can know for sure, but yeah, 'once bitten, twice shy' sure is a thing to be considered.

I've seen my own brother, Dennis (now deceased), jump from a horrible marriage to an abusive paranoid schizophrenic to a long relationship with a control freak who called all the shots for 26 years. My folks encouraged his relationship with her from the start, thinking she was so very normal (compared to paranoid psychotic not a very high bar).

Gal #2, in my opinion, contributed to my niece developing into a very dependent person, due partially to step-mom playing the ole enable-and- then-resent game.

So where am I going with this ramble?

I have no idea. 🤣

Expand full comment

thats no fence, thats a HAARP being installed by the men in black. i knew you were CIA!

Expand full comment

Now you know too much.

https://i.giphy.com/media/3og0IUd5D9Y77EXtRK/giphy.webp

Expand full comment

Oh wait, brothermouth is in here? This feels like a comic book crossover event!

Expand full comment

Great gif!

Expand full comment

Alas, he can mark himself ' Safe! From that Barbarian with the incongruous Southern drawl'-

If only I were a cougar * rowr!* and could bear to live in the frigid wastes of the North.

It would also be appreciated if I had a better bod, and a personality implant. Oh, and money.

Safe!... but we still want pics of Gutterfarm doings, antics, and personalities.

Expand full comment

I also note that the grass is indeed greener on his side of the fence.

Ladies...

Expand full comment

Well dear, he's too young. (I decline to believe I'm too old, but people have their prejudices.)

Expand full comment

Pimping your handyman brother on the internet. What could go wrong?

Expand full comment
author

This is probably one of the least obnoxious things he's put up with in recent memory.

Expand full comment

SNAP

Expand full comment

Ooooh, if I were younger and single, I’d drag him by that ponytail (or is that a man bun gone astray?) out into the pasture somewhere…and hope that loose porker didn’t follow us.😛

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2022·edited Oct 28, 2022

Best part, he looks really tall! Definite prerequisite. 😉

Expand full comment

On behalf of the LGBQT+++++ community I’m dismayed by the Hate expressed in these heteronormative words. Also, that fence is a dog whistle.

Expand full comment

Yeah, but the Daughter Product's a NW gal...

Expand full comment

Count me in!!!!💕

Expand full comment