63 Comments
Nov 30, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Grrr. Living in a nation where it's easier for criminals to own (and use) weapons than for even the police, I always feel envy and jealousy reading stuff like this.

Before the 1950s, Sweden's gun laws were more liberal than the US, and crimes involving guns were virtually non-existent.

Grrr.

Expand full comment
author

As much as you have my sympathies, don't feel too jealous; the push to end this kind of thing in the US is more aggressive than ever.

Expand full comment
Nov 30, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Full review here.

https://www.pewpewtactical.com/omega-arms-ar12-review/

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for providing the additional info!

I'm not quick to offer praise, but I'm willing to give a little more credit than he is for close-range accuracy. It does very nice out to 20y with slugs.

He knocks it a lot for looking dorky, but I saw some good quality. Certainly there are better, more expensive tactical shotguns- if I had money to throw around I'd treat myself to an AA12. But this is definitely more "middle of the road" than "just fun for pumpkins."

Expand full comment

🤯... neeeeeeeed...

Expand full comment
author

If you've got the scratch, they still have a few!

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

I've purchased little for myself for Yule... 🤔

Expand full comment

Just got one, thanks! And then I went back in and added one to my cart as a test, and it added, so they STILL have them, or at least, they still have one.

Expand full comment
Dec 13, 2022·edited Dec 13, 2022

Not happy AT ALL with Combat Armory. Will probably never do business with them again. They canceled my order with NO explanation, NO warning, NO anything.

Just an email saying,

"Hi ANDREW,

An order you recently placed on our website has had its status changed.

The status of your order #xxxxxx has changed to Cancelled."

That's it. That's all they said. F them.

My FFL is IN their system, AND, my FFL emailed their FFL info to Combat Armory just yesterday, as Combat requires. So there's no legitimate f'n reason for them to cancel the order today.

Expand full comment
author

Holy shit.

I'm so sorry that happened, thank you for telling me about it.

Had you already made payment? Is it possible they ran out of stock before fulfilling?

Expand full comment
author

Would you like me to follow up with them and ask "hey why did you fuck my friend?"

Expand full comment

LOL! Only if you think it would help, but, the website implies that it's now out of stock, because you can't add it to the "cart". So I may be SOL.

But seriously, thank you for the offer.

Expand full comment

Hey, I want to clarify something: my first paragraph was NOT directed at you in ANY way, was not intended to sound like I was passing judgment on you in ANY way. I just wanted to share my negative experience with THEM, not with you for recommending the shotgun.

Anyway, I know you're not thin-skinned, so I'm sure you took it the right way, and I'll be a little disappointed if you don't rake me over the coals for THIS weak-ass comment.

Expand full comment
author

No, I am literally asking you if you'd like me to go and angrily advocate for you as a known repeat customer of theirs because I take it as a matter of honor that something I referred you to was bad.

But if you'd prefer, I can just tell you to go fuck yourself.

Expand full comment

Yep, I had made payment a week ago, so I don't think it could be an inventory issue (although NOW they're out of stock). The email I quoted above was the email telling me that my week-old payment was refunded to my credit card. This was all the explanation I got when I asked why:

"unfortunately at the moment we are not sending firearms to Puerto Rico"

Which sounds to me like a bullshit answer, since my shipping address was Puerto Rico and they have multiple Puerto Rico FFLs in their data base. And yet my order went through a week ago, and remained "in fulfillment" for a week. So I further asked, though I don't expect a response this time,

"One more point I’d like to make, Mike: your website says, on the Omega AR-12 screen (https://www.combatarmory.com/omega-ar-12-12-gauge/), “We do not Ship To: California, Connecticut, Boulder, Denver, Vail, Colorado. Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Chicago, Illinois, Cook County, Illinois, or Deerfield, Illinois, Washington D.C”.

Puerto Rico is not included in that list, and wasn’t included in that list a week ago when I placed the order.

So what’s going on really?

Thanks again,

Andrew"

Expand full comment
author

Important clarification: you have DEFINITELY received a refund?

Expand full comment
author

My guess is that you simply caught them not having updated their no-ship list to include PR.

It probably isn't a bullshit answer in the sense that they are probably NOT currently shipping there, but you caught them with their pants down not having stated it and they're not admitting their error.

Expand full comment

If so : 1)they should have known what they had in stock. 2) an explanation should have been tendered.

Expand full comment
author

Obviously more information should have been provided no matter what the reason.

Expand full comment

Doggone...

Expand full comment

I realized shortly after telling myself that I'd not gifted myself anything significant, that I had a platform bedframe on its way ( so I can get the foam mattress off the floor). I'll be able to use it after my dog passes,hopefully farther into the future than I think.

Leave pictures of your haul so that I can live vicariously through you!

Expand full comment

When I finally got my (unconstitutional) gun license in this new-to-the-fold "shall issue" jurisdiction last June, I kinda went overboard and got 2 years worth of birthday and Xmas gifts (that I promptly lost in boating accidents).

But $200 for a shotgun was too good a price to be a responsible adult about, so I went ahead and got it. Maybe I'll be entitled to another Xmas gift by the time 2025 rolls around.

Expand full comment

Dammit man... boats aren't to be trusted, as I myself have learned. It's like they have an aversion to gunpowder...

That price is indeed outstanding,and I can comprehend your expenditures of the next couple years giftings.

Georgia now has Open Carry. It's hard enough" being good" for Santa's list...I'm a red head, don't change know?

Expand full comment

How's Georgia's red tape for nonresidents to get CC permits? We have family who moved there last year - Reynolds Lake Oconee and its 5 or 6 golf courses - so I suspect we'll be visiting often. Or I will be, anyway.

Expand full comment

Maybe some inter-state commerce rules to contend with? I’ve got too many Massachusetts liberal rabbits hiding in the shrubbery.

Expand full comment
author

It's a standard FML transfer. It shouldn't be illegal anywhere with the 5-round magazine, which is why I suspect they packaged it that way.

Expand full comment

Unfortunately for some, it shows this on the page:

We do not Ship To: California, Connecticut, Boulder, Denver, Vail, Colorado. Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Chicago, Illinois, Cook County, Illinois, or Deerfield, Illinois, Washington D.C

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Question from a non-US person:

When it says "do not ship to", couldn't one order it to a neigbouring county to where they do ship, or to a box address or shipping company in an area they ship to? And then the buyer goes there to pick it up.

Or would that too break rules?

We used to do that with tobacco, when you had to have a registered and licensed business to import tobacco. So instead we ordered it delivered to a warehouse in Poland, took a ferry across the Baltic (it was just a short hop from Scania), loaded the car and the trailer up and took it home. On paper, it was registered as a private purchase from the polish warehouse, not the turkish (think it was turkish - it's been 30 years) exporter so no import tax or anything. Legal smuggling, sort of.

Expand full comment
author

What a good and logical question, Rikard!

When one does FFL transfers, they don't get sent to YOUR address/home, they're sent to the licensed gun dealer who acts as a legal middleman to receive the firearm, hand it to you, make you fill out whatever firearm paperwork and database search happens in their jurisdiction, and charge you a couple dollars for the service.

In principle, one can go to a jurisdiction where a certain kind of gun is legal- say, a rifle with a collapsing/folding stock or a short barrel, which are felonies in NY but available in pawn shops in PA- buy the gun, carry out the background check, throw it in the car, and drive back to your home state/municipality where this same weapon is now a war crime.

You would be committing a crime IN YOUR STATE the moment the gun enters it. In bigger outlet stores where you can buy guns, big national chains like Cabela's or Bass Pro Shops or Wal-Mart, they won't let the purchase go through if your ID shows a state or locality that forbids the gun you're trying to buy- but a lot of small retailers don't keep current on that. (They're not the ones committing a crime if you buy it and transfer it, after all.)

You're not TECHNICALLY committing a crime buying it in a jurisdiction where it's legal. It's a crime the moment you bring it back into a jurisdiction that doesn't allow it. And you are, of course, ALWAYS committing a crime if you buy it and then hand it to someone else as a gift without paperwork (called a "straw buyer").

Welcome to the wonderful world of US confederacy. The good part is, the state and federal divide allows different states in the US to have different rules reflecting their values (at least until Washington DC decides to pass federal laws superseding them, something that was ostensibly supposed to be very rare and very hard to do and now happens every single day)- so NY could have, say, full-term abortions but list BB slingshots as assault weapons punishable by 900 years in prison and allow you to marry fish and so forth, whereas AR could have a state fund to issue an RPG-A to every adult male upon turning 18, permit marriage to your siblings if they're pretty enough, and forbid killing xenomorphs in one's chest cavity because it would be abortion.

That was the IDEA of the state/federal divide. Over the last 150 (or so) years, it has become a tangled patchwork of contradictions (like marijuana), federal overreach (like abortion), and landmines (like gay marriage or 'assault weapons' being legal here but illegal 2 miles that way).

Expand full comment
author

PS When I was in college, I did my first two years in North Carolina, a southern state with very low taxes and prices on tobacco products. I would buy cartons and cartons of cigarettes, bring them up to NY on vacation, and sell them to my friends for about a $1/pack markup (which was still a great deal for them).

I learned much later from a lawyer boyfriend that I was apparently committing a massive felony every time I did this because the ATF (now the BATFE) doesn't allow you to sell anything that has a specific state's "tax stamp" in another state, and the transport of products ACROSS STATE LINES (federal law enforcement loves the phrase "ACROSS STATE LINES" because it makes whatever it is an incredibly serious offense and allows the FBI to show up and shoot your dog and kids on a no-knock warrant) made it a double felony.

But it was great spending money for me, and my friends got cheap Marlboros.

Expand full comment

I'm not a lawyer so couldn't say definitively. I was a bit surprised to see CO have only specific cities mentioned. I would think that could easily be circumvented by sending it to a FFL holder in a different city (ship to Gunbarrel, CO just outside Boulder for example), as long as the FFL didn't get too far into the weeds when running the check. And of course there are somewhat unscrupulous FFLs everywhere. When I bought my first semiautomatic pistol in the 90's before Clinton's threat to limit mag sizes, the background check was taking hours to complete (although I knew I was clean). The dealer let me walk with it anyway, and called the next day to confirm I passed the audition.

I would assume CA, CT, MA, NY, NJ would be difficult; they are well known to be infringers of the highest order.

Expand full comment

I speculate that some states and municipalities may have laws to the effect of requiring a gun ownership permit first before having physical possession in their jurisdiction, despite potential constitutional problems. New York’s law was recently overturned by SCOTUS. Not sure if their rewrite is in trouble yet. Massachusetts (blue) politicians scrambled to rewrite their law which was similar, in the interest of keeping me safe (and my fellow citizens).

Expand full comment
author

OOF. I guess I'm not surprised it falls under NY's "assault weapons" class. I'm guessing that's the case with these locations.

Expand full comment
Dec 10, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Thanks for this info. We did a bit of Christmas shopping. You were right, they are great people to do business with. I love being able to share information with like-minded people.

Expand full comment
author

Their prices are always amazing because their stock is largely clearances they've dug up from all over, and they're a very small outfit so are still very personable and nice.

Expand full comment

Consider asking them to put together a Gutterballs package with some bakshi for you? I'd do that. Include Guttermug or shirt? .

Reminds me: post up shop link every now n then,plz?

Expand full comment
author

That's a great idea, but I'd rather not have my RL details paired with my username or this stack, for as long as I can avoid it.

I'll probably give up eventually, especially if I start doing any kind of video, but I'm trying to cling to some privacy and real- life boundaries for as long as I can manage.

As for the shop link, though, your wish is my command:

http://checkmyprivilege.co/

Expand full comment

See? Thoughtful.

Thankee!

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Glad I no longer feel guilty for not having put “gutter mouth” in the comment part of the purchase page!

Expand full comment
author

LOL, no, that would have confused them. But thank you very much for the thought.

Expand full comment

My wife and daughters will sing your praises when they receive their Christmas gift!

Expand full comment
author

Wow, seriously? That's a fantastic gift!

I highly recommend breaking it in with "high brass" shells for the first 50 shots. It's a little more expensive, but not too much, and you can go back to cheap range stuff afterwards if they're just target shooting.

It will make a big difference in performance over the life of the gun.

If you don't (or after the break-in period), make sure you adjust the Gas Adjustment for low brass with the tool. It should be in the manual and is a pretty easy process (hit me up here if you have trouble).

Expand full comment

Their current one is old style pump and fairly heavy for them - so this looked like a great option to keep them interested. Not to mention cheaper than the Au or Ag they would've received - everyone's a winner. And Santa gets the old one.

Roger that on the brass.

Did you pick up additional mags as shown on your link - I read a comment on CraigN's link that they needed to be specific so take any recommendations.

My local FFL has some promag ones available but would rather not play hunt and peck with them.

For full disclosure, the youngest may need a few years before she's allowed to become a gutterball and truly sing your praises. She gets the snark and sass from the old man, but he hasn't shared some of the more blue vocabulary yet. Certainly not asking you to change yours!

Expand full comment
author

No, no, I think it's good to keep kids clean as long as possible.

Thank you for mentioning the link to magazines- I noticed that the ones available at the original link in my post are largely out of stock.

Here's where I bought mine- https://themagshack.com/product-category/shotgun-magazines/12-gauge-magazines/ - sorry I didn't put this one in the first place. (I've updated the link in the post to this one, also.)

I bought the Promag, because I like poly mags- they're lighter, rust proof, and just seem to fare better against dents. I got 2 10-rounds, when I can afford to drop a Benjamin on a magazine I'll buy their drum. The downside of the poly mags is that they will often take some breaking in before they slot and eject smoothly, but this is easy- just sit there swapping it in and out while you watch TV or something and you'll get it shaved down to where it will be smooth.

Make sure whatever you do buy specifically says AR or AR12, and NOT anything that says AK, Saiga, or NK. Those are for AK platform shotguns.

Thanks a lot for motivating me to post a better source.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

My pleasure.

Breaking them in sounds like the perfect way to spend most of the zoom meetings I attend.

Expand full comment

Lake Oconee. South of Athens,right? About 2 hours south of me.

I'm not sure how we are about non citizens to obtain a CC ( I let mine lapse about 5 years ago. Don't cancel me ).. but I think it's Reciprocal for CCs is pretty lenient.

Your best bet is to call the sheriff's office in the county where your friend lives. Get their lowdown on how best to comply- you.might be able to open carry too.

Your going to want to go play the other 2 big courses in Ga, Augusta and Calhoun( I think it's calhoun)

Expand full comment