144 Comments
author

I'll start.

SCA - Chrisjen Avasarala

Ryan Gardner - Jeff Bridges

Doc Holliday- Timothy Olyphant

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

No!

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Especially now that he is pushing the jabs for the immunocompromised.

Expand full comment
author

I don't give a crap about what the actual person thinks or does.

I picture Ryan Gardner as the Big Lebowski.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

There's a lot of truth to that. I swear to God I'm working at home in my robe! And happy hour starts earlier every day.

I do think you'd be surprised at what I look like though.

Here;

https://brightergy.com/people/

It's about 5 years old.

Expand full comment
author

Not looking! It spoils the game!

You're The Dude until I meet you IRL and that's it.

Expand full comment

Noooooo! You don't look like that at all! You have a nice head of dark blonde hair and while you don't look exactly like Jeff Bridges, that is a close enough approximation, and you're much younger.

Expand full comment

hahaha. I did have nice dark blond hair until I went bald in my mid forties!

Now I keep it to a stubble. Only person in my entire family who went bald. Oh well...my wife digs it....

Expand full comment

The Dude will abide, with that assessment.

Expand full comment

OK, I had to do a search on this Olyphant character, but you're really, really close on age and height/weight.

(Thanks for not saying Steven Buscemi...)

Expand full comment
author

It's mostly his voice and I imagine you having a mustache like he had on Deadwood.

Remember this is what your online personality makes me picture. It's a little more psychodramatic than playing "guess your weight" at the fair. :)

Expand full comment

Never far from a firearm, but no 'stache...

Expand full comment
author

Shame. I hate that 'stache/no beard has fallen out of fashion, I like them when they're done well on the right kind of face.

Expand full comment
founding

Lol...it looks like your Founding Subscriber is The Invisible Man. Hmmm...something to be said for that...Well, invisible man with a mug... :)

Expand full comment
author

I'm not finished yet! Those were just the first 3 off the top of my head.

Expand full comment
founding

Well if it isn't Clark Gable, I don't know what I will do...Invisibility has its advantages.

(See what you get when you say "have fun" with something?)

Expand full comment
author

Jon Hamm. Because he has a serious voice but has this kind of teasing smirk that I imagine you do a lot. But still kind of classic-looking.

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 4, 2022·edited Oct 4, 2022

GM, Hmmm...I was not familiar with Jon Hamm. But I looked him up and many similarities. And I am infinitely accessible. You hit the teasing smirk on the mark. Impressive.

Expand full comment
author

Psychologist.

But I'm glad you're happy with your persona! Like a lot of people I didn't know him before Mad Men, but it fits.

Expand full comment
author

He has a more serious bearing than you. I picture you being a little lighter and more approachable-looking than the classic square-jaws of old.

I'm still working on it.

Expand full comment

One of my minor life tragedies is no one meeting me will ever regard me as having noble bearing.

Expand full comment
author

That's why personas are so wonderful. I admit I mainly imagine Avasarala because of her voice and procity, but I stand by the look.

Expand full comment
author

I'm going to shut up and stop participating for a little while so I can actually write the next post while I have no meetings and a ridiculously rainy day that won't let me do a fucking thing on the ranch.

I'll pop in to bullshit later.

The point of this thread was to babysit you people, anyway. The Gutter is basically handing your toddler a tablet with GTA Hong Kong Wars pre-loaded.

Expand full comment

That would explain the faint tick in my left eye and my constantly tapping right foot.

Expand full comment
author

A few more from me...

Rikard - Gustaf Skarsgård

Integrity and Karma - Grace Jones

Jay Rollins - Tom Robbins

I'll get to everyone eventually, keep your egos in check.

Expand full comment

I'm Not going to look! Lololol

Expand full comment

It's cheating because I have seen his face, but you are really off on Rollins :) I won't give a suggestion since, again, cheating...

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Ok, let's see...

Guttermouth: Sigourney Weaver, with pulse rifle and flamethrower. Loading harness optional, for cattle wrangling.

SCA: Selma Lagerlöf (classic swedish author).

Rudolph Rigger: Anthony Steward Head.

Ryan Gardner: Bob Hoskins.

John Henry Holliday: well, if I can't pick Doc Holiday himself then it's Nikola Tesla.

Ray: Charles Bukowski.

The Ungovernable: El Cid. (1961, Charlton Heston)

El Gato Malo: Dwayne Johnson (especially the Southland Tales-version).

Bandit: Lars Molin, legendary swedish highwayman and bandit of the "make fools of the rich but don't hurt people".

Igor Chudov: Omar Sharif as Dr Zjivago.

libertate: Malcolm MacDowell (Clockwork Orange, not Caligula...)

Margaret Anna Alice: Genevieve O'Reilly (Mon Mothma)

Eugyppius: Ian McDiarmid (Emperor Palpatine)

Pfew, it's hard going when you're completely out of the pop-culture loop since Revenge of the Shit premiered, and 2/3 of your first picks are more or less unknows internationally.

Oh well, hopefully it brings levity!

Expand full comment
author

I was working on MAA for about an hour now in the back of my head but that one is excellent.

Expand full comment

Luckily, I'm not THAT old! I do have dark hair and wear glasses, that do kinda look like his. No beard and mustache or squinty eyes. With the facial hair I can't really tell the shape of his face, but overall, you're kinda close. I don't smoke either.

Expand full comment

Seeing as Lars Molin the highwayman lived 1785-1845... There's an author by the same name who lived 1942-1999 and a hockey player too, born 1956.

This is the man I was thinking of: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lasse-Maja

He'd don female clothes to infilitrate households to steal from, then switching to male clothes to escape, and was described as a jocular and easygoing, non-violent type, well-loved by swedish folks for "sticking it to the man".

When finally caught and convicted for stealing silver from a church, he became a celebrity in prison and was well-liked by jailors and fellow convicts for his story-telling and cooking skills. In 1839 he received a personal pardon from the crown prince Carl XIV of Sweden (Jean Bernadotte).

Expand full comment

Ahhhh. I was going by the pic of the 1942 Lars. --- So, you think I'm a transvestite... 😉😊😋 (Just kidding.) Or a thief?! (Still kidding.) --- I used to be funny and entertain people by acting a fool, but that was long, long ago.

Expand full comment
(Banned)Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Guttermouth >> Gisele Bundchen.

Her Husband>> Kris Kristofferson.

The older father>> Scott Glenn

Expand full comment
author

Wow.

So, when he was much younger, when we first started dating, Husbandmouth bore WAY more than a passing resemblance to a young Fabio, complete with ridiculously long blonde hair.

If I didn't already know what my father looked like, I would cast him as Peter Weller (especially in his most recent incarnation as Lucian from Longmire).

Expand full comment

Rikard looks like Kris Kristofferson, but slightly more compact.

Expand full comment

Thank you! It fits real well, not the least since his grandfather came from Nås in Dalarna in Sweden and left for the US in 1905. (Yes, I looked it up - I don't carry that kind of knowledge around.)

Nås now has about 200 inhabitants. The general area is heavily forested (pine; Pinus silvestris, and spruce, Picea albis, interspersed with streams, moors and low rolling ridges, and is dotted with small villages and summer-homes, but the with very few year-round residents remaining.

What is real funny in a "that's nice"-way is that in the larger region around Nås and here too and pretty much the entirety of the forested countryside (meaning 3/5 of the nation) the music of choice is "dansband", meaning "band who plays music you can dance to" - i.e. country.

And the attitude to autohrity when it's being silly is very well summed up in Kristofferson's line from Convoy: "Well piss on you. And piss on your law."

Expand full comment

I saw someone here thought Gustaf Skarsgard for you and I thought "absolutely not" though I loved him in Vikings until the show went completely off the rails and fucked itself ten ways from Sunday. Too much nervous tension in him.

And no-fail on Selma. Clearly I've mastered fiction to the point of being an entirely fictional being in all o' your heads.

Expand full comment

Sounds like a very nice area.

Expand full comment

So you are all confirming my predictions are fairly accurate and comforting to you. Thank you.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

I do not mean to offend, but SCA - Ruth Gordon.

Expand full comment
author

You need to edit the "I do not mean to offend" out of your comment or I demand you cancel your free unpaid subscription to my stack immediately.

Expand full comment
author

Going to paid as a retort was an absolute fucking baller move.

Expand full comment

Speaking of prostitutes.

Expand full comment
author

The difference is prostitutes ASK for the money.

Expand full comment
author

And, like, literally the only difference.

Expand full comment

Up front!

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Heh, I'm pretty sure I paid in advance but turned off auto renew. But if not, apologies. Here, I am giving you $50 to keep the prefatory remark. I came for the intellect, but I stay for the infinite variations of stories about rounding up escaped cattle.

Expand full comment
author

I am contractually obliged to shut the fuck up on this issue now.

Expand full comment

I love Ruth Gordon! She's awesome!

Expand full comment

Agreed. She is wonderful.

Expand full comment

I have really got to tighten up the aim on those space laser eyes of mine. This cannot go unrevenged.

Expand full comment

And it's only out of gritted-teeth cordiality that I clicked "like" on your comment.

Expand full comment

PS: If you *really* must imagine me as people I don't resemble, at least for the love of God see me as Hilary Mason in Dolls.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Joe Biden looks like a retarded toddler.

Am i doing this right?

Expand full comment
author

We're doing it for the people we know in this substack community.

You just wanted an excuse to bag on Brandon. Stop acting like you can't follow instructions. :)

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

I do it for the people!

Expand full comment
author

So do prostitutes, though.

Expand full comment

Prostitues do it with the people.

Politicians do it to the people.

Expand full comment

Snake Eyes???? My G.I. Joe loving childhood is all coming back to me!

Expand full comment

Rudolph Rigger--GK Chesterton

Rikard--Einstein

Guttermouth--Holy card image of St. Joan of Arc (I am counting on you, in 10 years time, to hunt down every single one of these bleepers behind this Build Back Better scheme. Be especially harsh on Trudeau.)

Expand full comment
author

Your Rigger/Rikards are especially amusing because Rigger absolutely adores Einstein and probably would have wanted to be him.

Expand full comment
author

I worshipped Joan of Arc as a preteen. I think I wrote about four versions of the same book report all through middle school. I became a weird niche subject expert. But it was more interesting reading than endless Babysitters' Club novels.

Expand full comment

https://www.lifezette.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/joan1.jpg

With a fully loaded AK.

Expand full comment
author

That's a nice image. I'm gonna make a little print of that to hang out somewhere on my office wall.

Expand full comment

One of my all-time top favorite paintings.

https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/435621

Expand full comment

Einstein? Wow.

For some reason I've come to think you look like your avatar. I'd have to agree with our hostess, it's a damn shame that all the various old time styles of facial hair is on the out.

Expand full comment

Guttermouth-- I'm going with Imperator Furiosa. Kick St. Joan of Arc into the future.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

A lot of guys tell me that I resemble Stevie Van Zandt but only in his Sopranos or Lillyhammer character configurations. 🤣 A guy at a mall in Annapolis even walked up to me and asked if I was "that guy on Sopranos"! Of course, that was like 8+ years ago.

Expand full comment
author

I need to see your voice a little longer before I can picture an appropriate avatar.

Expand full comment

Yeah, no surprise!

Expand full comment

In fact, because his character name was "Frank" (Tagliano) on Lillyhammer, the guys at work had great fun telling anyone that would listen that the show was about me. They'd put it on the big monitors in the lab and tell people, "no really! tell me this is not Frank!" 🤣

Expand full comment

I find life easier if everyone looks like Henry Silva, though at various ages throughout his career. If necessary for the purpose, with a wig.

Expand full comment
author

For quite a while I read all psych textbooks as Morgan Freeman and all history textbooks as Ken Burns.

Expand full comment

For history I'd go with Donald Sutherland as he is now.

Expand full comment
author

Holy crap yes.

Expand full comment

its a pity i used an actual picture of myself so i cant participate

Expand full comment

🤣🤣

Expand full comment

I'm 'bout to blow all your minds...

El Gato Malo looks like a cat!

Brilliant, I know!

Expand full comment
author

Fine, you asked for it.

The Ungovernable - Jim Carey

Expand full comment

Bwahahaha

Wait, young rubber faced Jim Carey or old, flakey, bearded Jim Carey?

Expand full comment
author

Young rubber faced. Specifically I picture Ace Ventura. The vaguely-annoying-but-still talented bouncy body language and voice.

Expand full comment

I'll allow it!

Expand full comment

This is awesome. I've been hoping one of you guys would do this.

Everyone is thinking about this.

My guess for Gutterballs:

Tall robust Nordic people, replete with a brynja, winnigas, battle shields and a blood-smeared seax.

Expand full comment
author

That's hot, but we need a name!

Expand full comment

Orka and Varg Galdurman of the Battle-Grim Clan.

Expand full comment

I picture Guttermouth looking similar to Sara Conner.

When I did my podcast episode with Simulation Commander, I kept picturing some kind of college professor with glasses and a beard.

Guttermouth, I think you nailed SCA.

Expand full comment

Simulation Commander looks like David Tennant.

Expand full comment
author

You stole my goddamned answer RIGHT OUT OF MY HEAD.

For the record, then:

SimCom - David Tennant

Expand full comment

Only a little bigger, more rugged.

Expand full comment

I was picturing her as Tweeter from the Yellowstone series. Same foul mouth and everything, just with a bit less twang in her accent.

Expand full comment
author

Do you mean Teeter?

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

That would be correct.....wow, I've been mispronouncing that this whole time! You'd think I never watch that show.....also, her twang is more west Texas than central, but you're very close. I'd say I've probably gotten the closest so far, huh?

Expand full comment
author

Really? If anything after I wrote "central" I thought "maybe not, she's more panhandle," but I guess you're right.

And there are no wrong answers here. We're putting faces and voices to people's personalities, not trying to accurately guess what they look like IRL, but it's always very interesting when they collide. Physiognomy is definitely destiny to some extent. :)

Expand full comment

OUCH!

Expand full comment
author

I actually look a lot like her, but I don't have a central Texas accent. I dress like that most days, too. I even used to have that color hair before having dyed hair was associated with being a woke lunatic.

Expand full comment

I like to picture you cursing like her (and dressed like her) as you're chasing down your myriad of ornery livestock critters.

Expand full comment
author

The stuff I have said about the bull wouldn't make it onto even premium cable, I don't think.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Don't you have a column to write, babysitter?

Expand full comment

My comment was less about her look and more about her personality...

*he says while backpedaling like a cornerback

Expand full comment
author

Either one is pretty much on target, though! I am only marginally more domesticated than Teeter.

But it's not like the actress is ugly, either.

Expand full comment

Sara Conner, but with dark hair! That's the best description of her! I know she'd round up those cattle without a bit of a problem.

Expand full comment

Bet you all can't guess what I look like.

Expand full comment

Cute

Expand full comment

Tom Cruise

Expand full comment

You would be surprised how much I get that. I get a lot of things, but that's been the consistent, longest comparison.

Expand full comment

I actually get Bradley Cooper. In fact, I once had a woman at a bar (no lie) ask me if I was Bradley Cooper.

That was a rush! :)

Expand full comment

Of course you said "yes" and then proceeded to have a GREAT night, right?

Expand full comment

Well, I tried. But my wife had other ideas! 😋

Expand full comment

I'll enjoy watching this, but I'm SO woefully clueless about much of pop culture, that my mental constructs for many of you come from my own mind map.

I'll probably have to look up most of yzll...

Om...onward!

Expand full comment

Guttermouth herself off limits then?

Just scrolled down and saw my name and Gustaf Skarsgård! Well! I'd never! Schucks and other noises.

Sorry but no. Think Gustav Vasa or Brian Blessed. Or Friedrich Barbarossa or Götz von Berlichingen. Or Fafnir Demonhand from the Conan comic if we're using fictional characters.

Awesome game I must say!

Expand full comment

Damn! Brian Blessed was who I was trying to come up with!

(I am terrible at this sort of game because I can never remember actor names... it turns into a terrible internal struggle of of that guy, in the movie, with the beard. You know, his mouth opens really wide when he's excited... he was so cool in Henry the V.)

Expand full comment

I am so out of my league with this crowd. Yours is the only comment I can fully track with: "You know, that actor who plays a psychopath but in reality writes sappy poems and his dad was involved with killing JFK..." Or "plays the dad in that movie where the name really doesn't fit, raising his kids in the wild, and they sing a great version of that song I really like while lighting the mom's funeral pyre..."

Expand full comment

I know! One of my friends from college I roomed with afterwards is the exact opposite: you could feed him those lines and he could give you a name. It was nice to have him around for those times you need to shout through the wall "Damn it... PIERCE! WHAT'S THAT GUY'S NAME, THE ONE WITH THE TEETH WHO SHOT THE GUY IN THE MOVIE WITH THE DRAGONS BUT MISSED?"

"WHICH MOVIE WITH THE DRAGONS?"

"THE ONE WE HATED."

"OH, [ANSWER]"

It sometimes bordered on creepy, like he was an early super advanced AI limited to running IMDB. Goddamn but it was handy though.

Expand full comment
author

I wish IMDB worked that way, that you could type "the guy in the movie with the flamethrower and all the bunnies" and it would use keywords to help you find it.

Expand full comment

That would be helpful, both for finding the movie you are thinking of, and finding movies you might want to watch!

You might be thinking of "Night of the Lepus", by the way.

Expand full comment
author

I love that a bunch of random nonsense I pulled out of my ass to be funny is a movie somewhere.

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Lord! I'm sooo glad I'm not the only one!

Expand full comment

We can shake hands on that then, I'm the same. "Hey look it's that man, you know, who played that funny sidekick in that movie we saw in the theatre in 1997!" Cue the wife: "..."

Doctor Hammer, that sets the mind on a certain track that name, doesn't it? Let's see...

Stellan Skarsgård. In th 1982 movie The Simple-Minded Murderer. I believe there's a subtitled version of it - it is well worth watching.

Expand full comment

A bit off, but check back in another 20 years and it might just fit... I did get pretty soft finishing the dissertation (and moving to MN... they know how to eat to keep off the cold!) and its taking some time to repair. :)

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

So, we know you have a full beard.

Expand full comment

Guttermouth: Granny Weatherwax, mixed with some version of Silje Torp from Norsemen (the Vikingane version) once I started to parse her icon properly.

Expand full comment

Guttermouth looks like Kelly Reilly from Yellowstone. Acts a bit like her, as well! :)

Expand full comment

Thanks loads. Will have to spend the rest of the day scrubbing my brain. I loathe Kelly Reilly, most truly.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Your baggage is your own! 😂

Expand full comment

Ooh. Good one. Lol!

Expand full comment

Just discovered that the Gutterhostess was not taking an indefinite hiatus due to livestock-related hellishness, but that all the posts were going straight to spam.

Ech...

I picture GM as the Trina Schart Hyman heroine from King Stork in overalls.

El Gato Malo as a cat I know. It's the internets. We are all just shadows, on the cave wall here, and he's a cat.

Expand full comment

Dr. Yeadon...Thomas More

Obviously.

Expand full comment

Took me days to puzzle this out but I see you as a dirty-blonde less angular but snappier version of Diana Muldaur.

Expand full comment
author

Wow, a classic beauty. I'm flattered. And what great characters she played.

If we're playing the celebrity game, the person I most closely resemble in real life is Milla Jovovich. When I was younger and thinner, I resembled her closely enough that it caused chaos more than once at airports in Japan when the Resident Evil movies were all coming out one after the other over there.

If I lost 30 pounds (working hard on it) and cut my hair short again, I could probably still pass for her as we're a similar age.

But that's the fun thing about our online personas- we evoke an almost truer self by what we say and do.

Expand full comment

Well God help me then...because even in the exceptional accolade you gave me with your choice, ain't nobody seen me yet.

I can see the Milla when the savage wit comes out. Otherwise I failed...

Expand full comment
author

Our souls look different, is my point. :)

Expand full comment
deletedOct 5, 2022Liked by Guttermouth
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Quite obviously, a T-Rex. 😉😊😋

Expand full comment
author

With a tie.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

No, I said Tom Robbins, Hammer said I was completely wrong.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Yes, obviously not 92-year old Robbins.

Expand full comment