76 Comments
Oct 25, 2022·edited Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

I answered, "Yes," although I don't believe that that is really true. I just can't bring my heart to admit it fully at this time. God help us, please!

Expand full comment
author

I suspect that's a lot of us who said "yes," on all counts.

Expand full comment

My sentiments exactly. I am almost certain that we cannot vote our way out of this mess, but I will keep trying until it completely unravels.

The incredibly insightful Christopher Zeeman (worth checking out daily-- https://thezman.com/wordpress/) wrote that Trump was Normal America's olive branch to the out-of-touch elites. Well, it looks like the peace offering was rejected...

Expand full comment

John Henry are you from Griffin Ga? I ask because I used to live there and there is a restaurant in the building where his office was. I will say about your comment that if we ask a different question about the vote and this is while we are continuing to vote, lets continue to push our lol Representatives to pass a resolution and force all the states to adopt the same voting machines and with a paper ballot trail, after all we have uniformity in many other areas across all states and this is the most important one, they could pass in order to make the vote harder to rigg, Respectfully, Jack.

Expand full comment

Jack, I am not from Georgia. JHH, DDS is my nom de plume (and future nom de guerre?!?) on Substack.

I agree 100% on paper ballots. A simple marker and a paper ballot would suffice to make fraud less likely. That's exactly why we won't have them. What sort of banana republic takes days or weeks to determine the outcome of an election? And we've come to accept this as normal.

Expand full comment

You are exactly right my friend. I think Jon Rapport has described this culture we live in better than anyone I have read in recent years. Thank you for your comments, Jack. PS Holliday was from Griffin Ga. located south of the City of Atlanta about 50 miles +or- His portrait hangs in the Res truant Docs in Griffin.

Expand full comment

Thanks. I've been to the OK Corral. Maybe I'll check out his haunts from his time before ventilating Clantons.

Expand full comment

What he said!

Expand full comment

Be brave and just admit that things are crooked and need to be changed. This is the trouble with most people, and they pretend that all is well because they do not want to face the terrible truth of reality, but I say that nothing will be won back if this attitude continues. Pandoras box has been opened and we pretend it has not been. Be brave even if it costs your own life in the search for truth and real Democracy in reality and not just in platitudes that mean nothing, Respectfully, Jack. PS if you are not familiar with Jon Rapport you should be. Escape the matrix.

Expand full comment

Almost certainly won't make a difference in the election outcome, but hell, it is cheap and I live in a swingy state.

Expand full comment
deletedOct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

They put their keys in a candy dish at the door of the polling station.

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

😂🤣😂🤣 You're not old enough to remember that!

Expand full comment
author

I wrote a paper on polyamory, key parties are definitely part of the history!

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Was there any debate on the masks/no masks issue?

Accidental incest-jokes aside, that one is still tearing up the swingers over here.

Expand full comment
author

I couldn't tell you. I've never actually seen such a party. I don't think masks were/ are very common elements except maybe as a gimmick?

Expand full comment

This was still going on in the 1990s, so I know you're old enough, but it was such a big joke among teens in the 70s, that's why I said it, 'cause of the jokes made.

Expand full comment
author

In all honesty I had no idea they were still around then. I thought they were purely a 70s thing I saw on TV.

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022·edited Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

A married friend surprised me by saying that his willingness to play that game depended on who put their keys in the bowl.

Expand full comment

I thought if you went, your keys went in the bowl, or you had to leave.

Expand full comment

Ahh, I just realized that it sounds like I have played the game. I have NOT, nor would I.

Expand full comment

A likely story! 😉😊😋

Expand full comment

I think you are right. I guess he meant that it depended on if he could control who went to the party.

Expand full comment

"Swingy." 😉 Hey baby. 👄

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

Oooooo. 😍

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

No, it doesn’t matter. However, I still vote. Not all traces of optimism have been removed from me yet, but it’s getting close.

Expand full comment
author

BT dubs, I am really loving the results of this poll so far.

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

I am a conservative in a purple blue state, ruined by transplants from CA.

Expand full comment

Pack 'em up and send 'em back!

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

I mean, maybe a little, but nobody I vote for is going to win. Since I can't choke down voting for the 2nd worst party just so the worst party won't win (they'll win where I live regardless...), I'll maybe drive in to town after my ballot has been swallowed by the machine and choke down a gordita.

Expand full comment
author

I thought it was a nice option for such a contingency.

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

But I'll vote anyway.

Expand full comment

It is strange that already those people who 2 years ago were saying "this was the most secure election ever" are already saying that the upcoming election is in danger of being "stolen". It tells me a couple of things are going through their heads. First, they really did cheat on a massive scale in 2020. Always accuse your opponent of what you are actually guilty of yourself. 2. They are afraid they cannot pull it off again because a lot of voters are motivated to see change from the terminal dumbassery currently running rampant in DC and in states. Having that many voters will necessitate even larger operations in even more jurisdictions to not lose both the House and the Senate. It will be more than they can get away with and they will be caught and then we have a giant shit sandwich because if they did it this time and got caught, there is no question they didn't get caught the first time they did it.

And the truth is they have been doing it for a long time in places like California. There is no way pelosi has been reelected every 2 years legitimately. Without "jungle primaries" she would have lost her seat long before now. Mixing parties in the primaries is a sham electoral process which favors democrats and incumbents. It would be one thing if she was making wise decisions for her constituents but she makes terrible decisions for her constituents and America in general. But maybe that has more to do with the idiocy of her constituents to realize they are being screwed over every 2 years by getting no other choice.

Expand full comment
author

So far all I'm seeing in the way of "this next election will be stolen" is various ways of saying "we're worried people will vote the wrong way."

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

I want my Yes to be true. but I dunno.

Expand full comment

I gotta ask: Are you a fan of the band eponymous to your blog?

Expand full comment
author
Oct 26, 2022·edited Oct 26, 2022Author

I've gotta put this in my About or something.

I've heard of the band. I've heard a few of their songs. I didn't know of them when I made this username.

My username comes from a Bree Sharp song of the same title, which was an occasional nickname.

Expand full comment

They're as hilarious as they are unlistenable (unless you're engaged in demolition or a similar activity).

Expand full comment
author

Yeah, that was my take.

My reference came first. :-)

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

Didn't vote since me not being american means my vote wouldn't and shouldn't count in an american election.

On the greater topic of voting and whether it's good for anything, well it's like when you're doing the trench run on the Death Star, and you need to roll 51 on your Starfighter Artillery skill check to hit the thermal exhaust vent, enabling the proton torpedoes to follow the repulsor field covered walls of the exhaust shaft into the reaction chamber.

And you only have 5D6+2D6 targetting bonus to use, and no force powers or force points: it's achance, it might work, and it costs you nothing to try.

Because once in a while the Wild Die will roll sixes again and again.

Expand full comment
author

To be clear, I didn't intend to limit the poll to American voting, but how anyone able to vote in their country feels about their participation in the process.

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

For some twenty-odd years now I've felt that unlimited franchise and universal sufferage are very good ideas with very bad outcomes.

A politician doesn't need skill nor knowledge, beancounters and craftsmen can be hired after all. A politician needs to be a leader, and a leader is not to be a ruler but primus inter pares, on the sufferance of the pares.

So, following that attempt at logic I've arrived that there needs be some kind of "moral maturity"-test for everyone wanting to be able to vote or be able to be elected and it doesn't matter if it's for head honcho of the garbage collection department or the nation.

But how to get there... like building an anthill.

Expand full comment
author

I think about this all the time- similarly for jury duty and other "democratic institutions"- but run up against the perpetual problem- who decides the test?

It's been barely a century since women could vote in my country. There are men- and even some women- who would still like to take that right away from me.

I think a great number of my countrymen are galactically stupid, ignorant, and make terrible choices that fuck up my life.

But who am I to disenfranchise anyone while that same sword hangs over my head?

Expand full comment

The ole' "Quis custodiet ipsos custos" is rather apt, even if it originally referred to roman pater familias hiring guards to ensure the wife didn't have illicit affairs - a jibe against both the men for being paranoid about their women, and the women for having such loose morals that the men needed to be suspicious.

The solution was eminently roman-pragmatic: hire eunuchs as guards. They can still do the deed, but can't sow any seed.

Could be there's some way to adapt that to modern politics, franchise and so on.

Expand full comment

I've noticed that the most jealous and suspicious men in my life were always projecting.

Expand full comment
author

And, in that respect, you perfectly summarized my own feelings on the matter. It is always a wild hope.

Expand full comment

What does one do when the party in power are self-destructively stupid, corrupt and ideological and the main opposition's stated positions have always been even worse?

Expand full comment
author

You got me. I've been trying to find a better way ever since I've been old enough to vote.

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

i voted no, but im in the UK where the WEF own them all

Expand full comment
author

Did you ever feel like it mattered? What changed?

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth

i only voted the once, when i had just turned 18. the way elections are set up in this country means our votes are worthless while so many elderly vote the same way every time no matter how fucked up their policies and history are.

the opposing party when they got in made a complete balls up as they did in the 70s (before my time). ive looked at the way they voted for things during covid and they actually look very much in line with the biden regime, so thats a no and we all know how infested with the WEF our current party is. theres simply nothing to vote for. Guy Fawkes had the right idea, although i heard recently that story was a load of bollocks too

Expand full comment

Holly Math Nerd explained my own position perfectly in a recent Stack so I needn't add a word further.

Expand full comment

Will be reading that with interest. TY.

Expand full comment

Yes, it matters a lot in my local, small town elections.

Expand full comment

Yes, if only truly for local/state politics , which I feel impact me most directly. If my local council has enough backbone to not comply with an edict to round us up for re-education...we just might make a go of it.

Expand full comment

Too late. Voting is for boomers..

I'm pushing 60.

Burn it down, already

Expand full comment

“If voting did anything they wouldn’t let us do it” ~Mark Twain late 1800s/turn of the century

Expand full comment

I live in Massachusetts. My vote doesn't count for $hit. But hopefully does for the ridiculous ballot measures.

Expand full comment
author

Assuming they actually tally votes, referenda are usually more important than the elections they're hung on.

Expand full comment

For this election, I have to say "yes" because I'm clinging to hope that my single raindrop could contribute to a potential flood.

In the past, my vote rarely mattered because I usually voted 3rd party. But this year, I'm voting Against The Current Thing for the first time in a while. Historically, this district has been knee-deep in Smurfs, but maybe, just maybe, if enough people have been sufficiently pissed off over the last two years, I won't be the only freshly minted Gargamel at the polls.

Expand full comment
author

I gotta be honest, I'm legitimately worried about what the consequences of shenanigans may be. I still haven't decided how I'm going to respond if there is an obvious sham.

Expand full comment

No, it doesn't matter. Why? Because the system is rigged to keep those with the best interests of the People out of office. Trump was the exception that proved the rule and look how insane the left and right went when that happened.

After the last 2 years I believe they have repaired their flaw in the system, which is to actually count the votes correctly and to allow ballot box stuffing. We will see how this election goes in a couple of weeks, no one in their right mind should be able to pull the lever for anyone with a (D) next to their name. And yes, I do include "abortion supporters" in with those who are out of their minds. Will they have stacked the robot votes deep enough to compete with the will of the people? That remains to be seen.

Expand full comment

I'm stealing this quote from someone else, not sure who as it is quoted in another stack.

"When they tell you the 2020 election wasn't stolen, believe them and vote. If you believe the 2020 election WAS stolen, vote anyways and make them steal it again."

Expand full comment

If nothing else, it matters to me. I'm in California, so my "people" rarely get voted in, but we got an awesome sheriff for years ago, and that's made a difference in my county.

Expand full comment

Until the voting machines are uniform in every state and backed up by paper, they will not be honest. It should be a federal law to mandate this in order for the vote to be better tracked. The problem is that both parties oppose this sensible and rational move. Both are complicit in dishonest ballot counts so this is the logical thing to do, and until them the vote cannot be trusted. I am sure most who read this are not familiar with Lynden Johnsons Senate election where he and his friends hold up a five-gallon bucket of votes from the graveyard and all are smiling knowing how he was elected by fraud. It is worse now!

Expand full comment
deletedOct 25, 2022Liked by Guttermouth
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

But give me two weeks…

Expand full comment

No, that is not ‘what that means.’ 🙄

BUT so many of u.s. still STILL! In spite of every thing we can see just the facts we do know?yet still REFUSING TO ACCEPT -MUCH LESS SPEAK- THE FACT BASED AUTHENTIC TRUTH? Guarantees that NOTHING will be any different this election

than the past criminally treasonous, corrupted elections😒 🤦‍♀️

Expand full comment
deletedOct 26, 2022Liked by Guttermouth
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

Thank you for that Well put & well thought out argument.

Are you aware that the alleged reason the Supreme Court refused to hear the election fraud case

back

immediately after we all watched the coup d’etat of the potus election live world wide

was because

IF THE SCOTUS DID THEIR JOB & heard all evidence proving Biden & Co… not only lost

but committed treasonous election theft AGAIN!

just like Obama & Clinton & all the cabal’s minions did in 2016

& have spent the last few years falsely accusing trump of their acts- like the Nazis they are.

Sooo we are not enforcing u.s. law

We are not defending u.s. citizens or even u.s. national security, etc… all for fear that the HUGE LIE THAT WE ARE SOMEHOW STILL OPERATING AS U.S.- vs having been entirely corrupted by The Genocidal Globalist Nazis= the enemies of individual freedom…

We have allowed the illegal foreigner raised to u.s. to own & operate as ceo for 8 straight years hiding all his overt crimes.

We have allowed the cabal & their minions to destroy so many individual u.s. citizens for doing nothing but actually representing u.s. citizens & u.s. national interests.

We have allowed the cabal & their minions in big tech to deprive u.s. of our first amendment rights for decades without anyone bothering to mention the truth because the idiots who’ve been muzzled for real for 2 years?

the same dumbphucs who refused to demand our u.s. govt enforce constitutional rights & freedoms in the 21st century marketplace- ever wonder why u.s. citizens would allow all we endured here =unconstitutional lockdowns & lies & medical experiments etc?

Conditioned over years to THINK AS THE TV TOLD THEM TO THINK.

We let them unseat our real president & continue to allow actual terrorists to dictate treason as u.s.policy to u.s. from POTUS SCOTUS CONGRESS SENATE & of course that 4th estate-MEDIA😒

We are allowing all of this worse every year

Year after year all because it is either keep playing their rigged games & give up this Truth

Swallow this shit sandwich, too…

Let one treasonous piece of shite after another get kinged by the lying media while they obviously destroy what shreds are left of our economy, national security, energy supply, small businesses, families, schools, food supply On Purpose

Because the only alternative is all out civil war?

🤨😒

Then I guess it will be a very long, cold, hungry ‘wait’ in ever worsening deprivation for u.s.

Because this war is nit like any other in application we have watched across the waves or studied from history.

this war is very different & WE ALREADY LOST.

The American Empire died a while back- I’d say the final death rattle came when big tech destroyed the Truth & our freedom of speech

but others argue we died when the cia took over the media

in operation mockingbird

Back in the 50s the cabal & their nazi minions did so for the express purpose of

control public opinion

They also created the vast secret govt… either created by the cabalist Nazis or infiltrated by them

so that they own & operate every real thing that actually happens in u.s. govt since they murdered jfk…

It’s huge what they’ve done - likely already lost at some point in the past.

God Bless you & all of the good people here & abroad who value Truth, rights, individual freedom, private property, merit, etc…

Every person who does not qualify for that?

will get to experience the full effects of living under the socialist communist or other named hell they believe to be better than freedom.

I used to say: I sincerely hope the dumbphucs live long enough to watch the cabal & their minion Nazis torture all of their pets & children to death so that they find out exactly what it is they’ve brought.

I don’t say that anymore since I got to watch the last couple years of nazi style compulsory medical experimentation & media hype & lies promoting the deathvaxx clot shots & the rest of the powers that be making up self evident lies like “sudden adult death syndrome” etc…

It turns out watching my fellow Americans leave their own pets submit themselves & even their own kids to often fatal or disabling medical genetic experiments hurt me more than I can say & I wish I had never had to see that.

Expand full comment